Chennai Super Kings won Champions League T20 2010

Chennai Super Kings win Champions League

After wining the trophy of IPL 2010, Chennai Super Kings proved that they are the real champions of Twenty 20 cricket tournament. Chennai super kings defeated Warriors by 8 wickets in the final match of Champion League T20, which was played on 26 September at Johannesburg on Sunday.

Both bowlers and batsmen played well to help Chennai to get victory on Warriors. This was one side match. All things were in favor of Dhoni’s team. Off spinner Muttiah Muralitharan (3/16) and Ravichandran Ashwin (2/16) stopped the opposite team on a little score of 128 on 7 wickets in 20 overs. After that, both the openers Murali Vijay and Mike Hussey made a half century.

After winning the toss, Warriors captain elected to bat first. But the batsmen were able to score only 128 runs from 7 wickets. They played whole 20 overs. The captain Davy Jacobs was the highest scorer (34 runs from 21 balls with 8 fours) from the Warriors inning side. The Craig Thyssen was the only other player after Jacobs who was able to give some resistance to CSK bowlers and made 25 runs from just 18 balls with 3 fours and one huge six and helped his team to reach on 128.

From the CSK side, the openers maintained 103 runs partnership and were able to give a solid start to the team. The opener Mike Hussey remained unbeaten on 51 from 46 balls with 3 fours whereas Murali Vijay was out on 58 runs from 53 balls with the help of 6 fours and 2 sixes. Suresh Raina contributed 2 runs and the captain of Chennai Super Kings remained unbeaten on 17 runs of 12 balls with the help of 2 fours and 1 six. CSK chased the target in 19 overs (132/2) by losing their two wickets and won the match by 8 wickets.

Murali Vijay was declared Man of the Match (MOM) for his contribution of 58 runs in the inning. And this man was also awarded with Golden Bat for scoring the highest number of runs in the tournament. He scored total of 294 runs from six matches and it was eight more from Davy Jacobs. CSK spinner R.Ashwin picked up the maximum number of wickets in the tournament which is equal to 13 and which is one more from Muralitharan. He was honored with Golden-Wicket award. Ravichandran Ashwin was declared as Man of the Tournament.

The winning team, Chennai Super Kings, received the cheque of US$2.5 million whereas the runner up team, Warriors, received the cheque of US$1.3 million.

Get more stuff

Subscribe to our mailing list and get interesting stuff and updates to your email inbox.

Thank you for subscribing.

Something went wrong.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.