India wins World Cup 2011 – Congratulations India

India wins World Cup 2011 by beating Sri Lanka by 6 wickets. Sri Lanka won the toss and opted to bat first. Sri Lanka’s start was very slow. But with Mahela Jayawardene’s 103 runs, Sri Lanka was able to make 274 and gave India a tough target of 275 to win the match and World Cup 2011. Apart from Jayawardene, Captain Kumar Sangakkara, Tillakaratne Dilshan and Nuwan Kulasekara were other notable performers.

From Indian Innings start, Sachin Tendulkar and Virender Sehwag stood as opener batsmen from India. But Team India got a shock when pace-bowler Lasith Malinga took Sehwag’s wicket on the 2nd ball in the very first over. Indian team again suffered a loss when Malinga took another wicket and that too of Master Blaster Sachin Tendulkar.

It was Gautam Gambhir who was able to control the tumbling Indian innings. Gambhir made fabulous 97 scores. His bad that he missed his century. After that, Yuvraj and MS Dhoni took hold of bat and they were able to take control of the match in their hands.
India Wins World Cup 2011

Indian captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni gave India a victory by his six and thus, India won the World Cup.

The victory proved a farewell to Coach Gary Kirsten and Best cricketer of all times – Sachin Tendulkar as they are leaving the team after this match. Dhoni got Man of The Match award. This is the second time that India has won world cup. Prior to this, the country won it in 1983 under Kapil Dev leadership.

ICC Board of India has announced to give 1 crore rupees to each Indian team Member and Rs. 50 lakh to each coach.

World Cup 2011 final Match Statistics
Indian Team members: Mahendra Singh Dhoni (captain), Zaheer Khan, Virender Sehwag, Gautam Gambhir, Sachin Tendulkar, Virat Kohli, Yuvraj Singh, Suresh Raina, Shanthakumaran Sreesanth, Munaf Patel, Harbhajan Singh.

Sri Lanka Team Members: Kumar Sangakkara (captain), Mahela Jayawardene, Upul Tharanga, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Thilan Samaraweera, Lasith Malinga, Chamara Kapugedera, Suraj Randiv, Thisara Perera, Muttiah Muralitharan, Nuwan Kulasekara.

Match referee: Jeff Crowe (New Zealand)
Umpires: Simon Taufel (Australia) and Aleem Dar (Pakistan)
TV umpire: Ian Gould (England)

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.