Wisden Cricketer of 2010 – Sachin Tendulkar

Master Blaster Indian Cricketer Sachin Tendulkar has been selected as the Leading Cricketer of World for 2010.

Prior to Sachin, following 6 players have received this award:

  1. Shane Warne from Australia
  2. Ricky Ponting from Australia
  3. Virender Sehwag of India
  4. Jacques Kallis from South Africa
  5. Andrew Flintoff of England
  6. Muttiah Muralitharan from Sri Lanka

Wisden Cricketers Almanack’s 148th edition was launched on Wednesday and it was the first time that Sachin got this award though he was also a nominee in earlier years and in 2009, he was on 4th number. Zaheer Khan, Virender Sehwag, Mahendra Singh Dhoni and VVS Laxman were also a part of this 2009 Test Wisden.

Recent Honors for Sachin,
* Gifted World Cup Trophy Replica
* GOD of Cricket

Sachin was able to fulfill his long awaited dream earlier this month in April in Mumbai when India won World Cup 2011.

In 2010, Sachin made more than 1500 Test Runs and there were 7 centuries and the average was of 78. He became the first player to score double century in ODI in February and the first to score 50 Test tons in December. These both records were targeted against South Africa.
Wisden Cricketer of 2010 – Sachin Tendulkar
Wisden honored him by saying,

Wisden acknowledges Tendulkar’s highness by naming him as Leading Cricketer in the World for 2010.

The strange thing that happened this year is that only 4 cricket players are selected by Wisden instead of 5. These four are:

  • Jonathan Trott
  • Eoin Morgan
  • Tamim Iqbal
  • Chris Read

Tamim Iqbal from Bangladesh was the first player  to get this honor.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.