National Sports Awards 2010

2010 National Sports Awards

Indian President Mrs. Pratibha Patil, during a function held on Sunday at Rashtrapati Bhavan’s Ashoka Hall, New Delhi presented the National Sports Awards for the year 2010. The award was given by Mrs. Pratibha Patil to the top players of the country.

The Indian President awarded 33 sports prizes to distinguished sports personalities for their achievements in the Indian sports field. The prizes which were given are Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna 2010 including Arjun Awards (which was given to 15 players), Dronacharya awards (given to 5 players), Dhyan Chand Honors (given to 3 sports person). Besides this, Tenzing Neorgay national adventure awards, the Maulana Abdul Kalam Azad trophy and Rashtriya Khel Protsahana Honors were also given.

Indian Badminton star Hyderabadi Saina Nehwal was honored by Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna, the India’s highest sport honor given for achievement in sports. However she was not present in the ceremony as presently she is inParis, outside of India, and is participating in the World Badminton Championships.

It was the lifetime great moment for those who was present in the function as they all were receiving the prizes from the president of the country itself. Indian Hockey Team Player Jasjeet Kour Handa also was not present in the ceremony as she is busy with the world cup inArgentina.

Here is the list of sports persons who were prized for National Sports 2010.

Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award
Saina Nehwal (Badminton).

Arjuna Awards
Deepak Mondal (Football), Joseph Abraham (Athletics), Parimarjan Negi (Chess), Jhulan Goswami (Cricket), Dinesh Kumar (Boxing), Jajseer Singh (Paralympics), Dinesh (Kabaddi), Sanjeev Rajput (Shooting), Sandeep Singh (Hockey), Kapil Dev (Volleyball), Krishna Punia (Athletics) and Rajiv Tomar for Wrestling.

Dronacharya Honors
Ajay Bansal (Hockey), Subhash Aggarwal (Billiards), A.K. Kutty (Athletics), Chand Roop (Wrestling) and Ibomcha for Boxing.

Dhyan Chand Prize
Kuldeep Singh (Wrestling), Anita Chanu (Weightlifting) and Satish Pillai for Athletics.

Tenzing Neorgay National Adventure Honors
Wing Commander Jai Kishan (Air Adventure), Chandraprabha Aitwal (Lifetime Achievement).

Maulana Abul Kalam Azad Trophy
Guru Nanak Dev University, Amritsar (2009-10).

Rashtriya Khel Protsahana Prizes
Tata Steel Ltd. Award received by H.M.Nerurkar, the Managing Director of Tata Steel Ltd and Raghunath Pandey, the President of Tata Workers Union, Madhya Pradesh govt.

One Comment

  1. PLease update me (All)any of sports awards given to Caoch or players.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.