Big 10 Wrestling Tournament

The Big 10 Wrestling Tournament 2010 started Saturday, March 6. Big 10 wrestling is hosted by the University of Michigan.

All matches will be played at Crisler Arena.

A complete preview, including schedule of events, championships, rankings can be found at Wrestling Tournament 2010 at

Information can also be found at the Michigan Big 10 Wrestling Championships.

Here is the complete schedule:

Michigan Big10 Wrestling Tournament Schedule

Time Event
March 6, 2010 (Saturday)
10 a.m. Doors open for common people
11 a.m. First Session (First Round and Quarter-finals)
4:30 p.m. Doors open for public
6 p.m. Second Session (Semifinals and Wrestlebacks)
March 7, 2010 (Sunday)
11 a.m. Doors open for common people
Noon Third Session (Consolation Semifinals, 7th place matches)
2:05 p.m. Championship-Round (1st, 3rd and 5th places matches)

Updates to Wrestling tournament 2010 can be found on Twitter at @BigTenChamps at address

Six Big Ten Schools grapplers participated in this event. And out of these all 6 schools, the number position is of Iowa. It had the 3 wrestlers at top in their respective weight-groups and Minnesota and Indiana were having 2. While some of other states like Wisconsin, Illinois and Ohio each had 1 contestant.

Brent Metcalf (24-0 at 149 pounds), Jay Borschel (28-0 at 174 pounds) and Chad Beatty (13-2 at 197 pounds) were the toppers on the list. At 149 pounds, Metcalf is on the first position in whole United States. In 197 pounds group, Beatty is at the forth position and Borschel is on second number. The world’s best fighters many a times the dual weight championship for their states.

The state Indiana has Angel Escobedo (125 pounds with 30-0) and Nathan Everhart (heavyweight at 32-0). These both are the top seeders. The America’s second grappler is Escobedo fighting in 125 pounds weight and second one is Everhart on 285 pounds. The rankings are based on InterMat Weight Class Rankings.

Wisconsin’s Andrew Howe (165 pounds at 28-0) had remained undefeated for most of the time. Sophomore was selected as Freshman of year 2009.

In 2009, Iowa captured the championship. The list was followed by Illinois (score of 113.5), Michigan (92.5), Wisconsin (88.0) and Ohio State at 80.0. These stood as top five states of United States of America.

One Comment

  1. This was a great tournament. The University of Michigan did a good job in hosting.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.