Will India Won The World Cup

India World Cup

It is a great honor for India as well as for all Indians that India is going to host the cricket world cup 2011. Even while writing this article, I am feeling very proud that we are going to host world cup this time.

No doubt, now most of the players are in their full form. The whole team is ready with younger players like Suresh Raina, Pathan, and Kohli as well as experienced players like Sachin, Sehwag, and Gambhir. But will India be able to keep the trophy of world cup with itself. Will India be able to won the world cup 2011?

I hope so. But if we look at the past stats, their statements are something different. Even none is favor of hosting countryIndia. But as we all know that cricket is full of uncertainty. No one can predict that who will be the wining team. But it is the fact that no world cup has been won by hosting team yet.

I don’t know if it is really a matter of bad luck or just misfortune that none of these hosts were able to win any one of the Nine World Cups.
Let have a look on the stats below

All Cricket World Cups Details

1. The World Cup tournament was first played in 1975 in England but it was won byWest Indies.

2. In 1979, again it was hosted byEngland. But this time also, the other team West Indies made a consecutive victory for the World Cup.

3. In 1983, England made a hattrick to host this big Cricket Tournament but still was not able to won the WC. Instead,India made a historical win on West Indies.

4. The fourth World Cup 1987-88, was won by Australia but was hosted by two Asian countries, India and Pakistan together. This was also the first time that cricket cup is being hosted by 2 countries together.

5. The 1992 Cricket World Cup was hosted by Australia and New Zealand but was won by Pakistan. Pakistan won this match by 22 runs and the runner up team was England.

6. The sixth world cup organized in 1996 was hosted by 3 Asian countries (India, Pakistan and Sri Lanka) together. The match was held in Gaddafi Stadium, Lahore but was won bySri Lanka from Australia. The Pak team which was hosting that final match was not able to reach even in the final of WC.

7. After 16 years in 1999, again it was the opportunity for England to host the World Cup. But again it was won byAustralia. Even the host team England failed to reach in super six.

8. The eighth tournament was held in South Africa (2003). But the trophy went with Australian Captain Ricky Ponting. India was defeated by 125 runs from Australian Team.

9. The ninth World Cup was won by Australia which was hosted by West Indies in 2007. This was a hattrick victory for Australia to won the World Cup and also it was the fourth World Cup trophy for Australia.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.